How having a Visual Aid helped me on my Debt Free Journey

I’m a visual person. I love being able to see progress. I used to work in a commission job with monthly sales goals to meet and I would always check my progress at the beginning of a shift. I made better decisions and knew exactly where I stood at the beginning and end of every shift. I often blew past my monthly goals because I saw it as a challenge. I used to get really competitive. Now that I stay home, I miss having that. Pushing myself to accomplish my goals and then more!

I’ve been able to shift my focus to our debt free journey. I do the monthly budget, I look for ways to save any money I can. We make grocery lists weekly with meal plans and strategically check stores to see where the best deals are. Sometimes it feels like all my hard work isn’t doing anything. But then I look at my fridge. I have a debt free chart that we color in each month after all our debt payments are made. You can find useful charts like ours here.

I’m just waiting for our check to clear for the truck before totally coloring all the lines in! Yay tax refunds!

I love being able to color in each line, for us it’s a little under $1000 each. I made the chart when we first started our journey and I didn’t realize there were debts that we had left off, so it’s not totally accurate, but I don’t want to redo it. It’s a reminder of how far we have come and how determined we are. We are fully committed to becoming debt free to create a better future for our family.

It is so encouraging to be able to color this in each month and to be able to have a daily reminder of where we are and what we have done so far!

Leave a comment